Stefanos Tsitsipas Hits Dad With Racquet During Meltdown At ATP Cup

0
Stefano Tsitsipas accidentally hit his dad with his racquet during a meltdown at the ATP Cup in Brisbane Australia after losing to Nick Kyrgios.
Stefano Tsitsipas accidentally hit his dad with his racquet during a meltdown at the ATP Cup in Brisbane Australia after losing to Nick Kyrgios.

Stefano Tsitsipas accidentally hit his dad with his racquet during a meltdown at the ATP Cup in Brisbane Australia after losing to Nick Kyrgios.

World number 6 Stefano Tsitsipas lost his cool after losing his first set 7-6 (9-7) to Australia’s Nick Kyrgios.

He went on to smash his racquet twice at the team bench which is when he accidentally went on to hit his dad in the arm.

HAVE YOU READ!!??  Toronto Raptors Lose To Portland Trail Blazers 101-99 In Dying Seconds

His dad Apostolos who is also his coach was shocked as he clutched his right arm.

The Umpire then issued him with a warning just before his mother Julia, a former professional tennis player,  then came down from the stands and went over to the bench to give her son a piece of her mind.

The 21-year-old didn’t seem to get the message as another meltdown during the second set led to receiving a penalty point after he threw the ball at the team bench barely missing his father once again.

His father who had had enough of the outbursts got up and went into the stands where he spent the remainder of the game.

He later went on to lose the game 6-7 (3-7) 7-6 (7-5) giving team Australia the win.

HAVE YOU READ!!?? Another Blow For Japan’s Team As Kei Nishikori Pulls Out Of ATP Cup

In his post-game interview Tsitsipas showed little remorse for his actions as he went on to say:

“It happened accidentally. I didn’t mean to do it and straight away forgot about it and moved on from there,”

“It happens, I wasn’t aiming to do that. It just went out of control, unfortunately.

“Maybe I’ll stay in my room for three days, grounded by my father,”

Kyrgios who himself has a reputation for on the court meltdowns  went on to defend his opponent  after the game saying:

“I’ve done some stupid things as well in the heat of the moment, so it was obviously an accident,”.

Tsitsipas will need to have  a long hard look at his on-court etiquette after the game as such behaviour is not expected from a sportsman ranked 6th in  the world.

Share this article with friends
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments