Esports Brings Back Much Needed NBA Action To Fans

16 NBA players have decided to take their passion for the game online and compete in a NBA 2K20 esports tournament

NBA players have now turned to the world of esports to pass the time as they ride out the COVID-19 pandemic as they introduce the NBA 2K20 tournament.

16 NBA players have decided to take their passion for the game online and compete in a NBA 2K20 esports tournament.

HAVE YOU READ!!?? UEFA To Hold Meeting With European Football Bodies On Wednesday

The tournament comes with the winner walking away with US$100,000 prize money which they will donate to a charity of their choice that is helping with COVID-19 relief.

The players association, NBA and 2k Sports have come together with the NBA players to offer some much-needed entertainment to those fans stuck at home during teh COVID-19 pandemic.

Josh Goodstad who spoke on behalf of 2K Sports added:

“This tournament offers a unique opportunity for our players to compete with one another while also supporting their philanthropic efforts and engaging with their fans,”

“We are excited to work with 2K and the NBA to bring this experience to life for the entire NBA community.”

The 16 players involved in the tournament will be placed according to tot heir current NBA rankings and compete in head to head competitions choosing 8 existing NBA teams to play with.

HAVE YOU  READ!!?? Proteas To Announce West Indies Cricket Tour Dates

Players will only be able to use a selected team just once with the away play getting final choice should both competitors choose the same team.

The players competing in the esports NBA 2K20 tournamne t are:

1. Kevin Durant, Brooklyn Nets (96)

2. Trae Young, Atlanta Hawks (90)

3. Hassan Whiteside, Portland Trail Blazers (87)

4. Donovan Mitchell, Utah Jazz (87)

5. Devin Booker, Phoenix Suns (86)

6. Andre Drummond, Cleveland Cavaliers (85)

7. Zach LaVine, Chicago Bulls (85)

8. Montrezl Harrell, LA Clippers (85)

9. Domantas Sabonis, Indiana Pacers (85)

10. Deandre Ayton, Phoenix Suns (85)

11. DeMarcus Cousins (81)

12. Michael Porter Jr., Denver Nuggets (81)

13. Rui Hachimura, Washington Wizards (79)

14. Patrick Beverley, LA Clippers (78)

15. Harrison Barnes, Sacramento Kings (78)

16. Derrick Jones Jr., Miami Heat (78)

The games will begin on Friday 3 April and run until April 11. The first matchup will be between Kevin Durant and  Derrick Jones Jr. and will take place on Friday 3 April between 7:30-8:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on ESPN.

Kevin Durant as selected the following 8 teams:  Brooklyn Nets, Chicago Bulls, Dallas Mavericks, Golden State Warriors, Houston Rockets, Los Angeles Clippers, Oklahoma City Thunder and Utah Jazz .

Derrick Jones Jr has selected the following 8 teams: Boston Celtics, the Nets, Dallas Mavericks, Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks and Philadelphia 76ers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here