World Rugby Postpones All June/July International Matches

World Rugby has postponed all international matches that were due to be played in June and July. This is due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

World rugby said, “Extended travel and quarantine restrictions that apply to numerous countries, and concerns over adequate player preparation time, mean that any sort of cross-border international rugby competition cannot be hosted in July.”

South Africa was due to host Scotland in Cape Town on July 4, and Durban on July 11. However, the first-ever match between the Boks and Georgia on South African soil was due to be played in Port Elizabeth on July 18.

HAVE YOU READ!!?? Harry Kane Finds Creative Way To Donate To Charities

“Any solution will have player health, welfare, and appropriate return-to-play protocols at heart,” said Jurie Roux, CEO of SA Rugby stated in a statement released on the website.

Jamie Joseph’s Brave Blossoms were scheduled to play a test against Wales on June 27. Japan was then due to play a two-match series against Rugby World Cup runner-up England on July 4 and 11.

Likewise, New Zealand was scheduled to face Wales on July 4 and July 11 as well. Then a week later the All Blacks were due to face Scotland on July 18.

However, the Super Rugby Aotearoa will start on Saturday, June 13. Therefore, there is some rugby to look forward to in New Zealand.

In addition, Australia will not have their double clash against Ireland either. In addition, Fiji will not play the Wallabies on July 4.

HAVE YOU READ!!?? Government Supports Premier League June Restart

“This was an outcome we were anticipating, and we are planning accordingly to host the fixtures later in the year, if possible, and will continue to work with World Rugby to identify a new window within the international calendar to stage the matches,” Rugby AU interim CEO Rob Clarke said.

“With so much uncertainty around international travel because of the Covid-19 pandemic, the decision was really taken out of our hands,” NZ Rugby chief executive Mark Robinson stated.

Unfortunately, this also means that France will not face Argentina and Italy will not face Canada, United States, and Argentina.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here